Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Follow NI-Wild

Author Topic: First ever camping trip - where to go  (Read 6515 times)

firstimecamper

• Newbie Poster
First ever camping trip - where to go
« on: July 06, 2010 »

hi all,
I'm a complete novice. Apart from the odd festival and a couple of trips as a kid/teenager with friends, I've never been camping. Any advice appreciated!

My boyfriend and i decided we wanted to try it and have started getting some basic kit together. I've got:
- a three man tent
- couple of sleeping bags & basic camp mats (could bring my blown up mattress??)

Also ordered two basic rucksacks and a eurohike cook set and burner from millets.

We want to have an experimental couple of nights away in NI and i'm looking for suggestions. We don't have a car at the moment, so it's public transport/walking distance only. Preferably near the sea so i can swim.

I wanted to try a campsite for my first time and then get more ambitous after a couple of trips. But initial internet searching has only come up with caravan sites that look fairly grim. I'd like somewhere with basic facilities (water, toilets, showers) within walking distance of shops etc.

I've been to rathlin camping once years ago, but am told this weekend will be really busy. But this was the sort of thing i had in mind, some facilities but not all concrete and caravans.

Any suggestions or advice??
C

ChuckMcB

Re: First ever camping trip - where to go
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010 »

Welcome C.

What bit of NI are you from? Not much point dragging your ruck too far on public transport...

Got a back garden to have a practice in? (seriously)

Options for Mournes (if it's close for you): Meelmore Lodge (bit far away without car, £10 in a taxi from Newcastle), Bloody Bridge Camp Site otherwise the old failthfuls: Tollymore Forest, Castlewellen Forest. More here.

firstimecamper

• Newbie Poster
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2010 »

hi there,

I live in Belfast.