Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Follow NI-Wild

Author Topic: sore little toes  (Read 5950 times)

theharve01

• Newbie Poster
sore little toes
« on: March 09, 2016 »

hi,
when i go on long haul hikes i get sore red little toes.

what i tend to do, to stop blisters and to stop it hurting is to keep on putting extra pairs of socks until there is completely no movement. but then the skin between all my other toes goes numb for a few weeks/ months, depending on the duration of the hike. this is from my feet been squashed in my boot.

i was going to try wrapping tape, flexi plaster tape around my little toes to stop this. i have never tried it before and was wondering if anyone else has used this and did it work.

thanks

Ed

• Has Camped With NI-Wild
  • Hero Poster
  • Bally up!
    • HikersBlog
Re: sore little toes
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2016 »

Sounds like you need a slightly wider boot.
My advice is to go to cotswolds and get your feet professionally measured up for an appropriate boot. Perhaps a wide fitting boot from the likes of Asolo for example.
Sometimes my wee toe rubs in my trail shoes, I just duct tape over it, but thats not ideal and not a long term solution.
http://www.hikersblog.co.uk
"In the ni-wild militant wing a tent is now considered glamping" - RustyMadra
Team Bivvy!

RedLeader

• Hero Poster
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2016 »

You might need a specifically wide soled boot. Like Ed says, getting your feet measured by someone who knows what they're on about would be best. Cotswold Outdoors will measure them for you for nowt! They could recommend a wider boot too, there are a couple of manufacturers that make their footwear specifically wider but I can't remember who they are.

theharve01

• Newbie Poster
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2016 »