Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Follow NI-Wild

Author Topic: Advice on new Kayak needed  (Read 4981 times)

Al Fresco

Advice on new Kayak needed
« on: January 16, 2012 »

Hi I have an old fiberglass kayak that I have been using occasionally on the Lagan for a few years, im looking to get into the sport a bit more and am looking for  new kayak, a bit tougher and more versatile than my fibreglass.
I liked the look of the Pyranha Karnali rapid, seems good for progressing on and not too expensive.
Anybody got any alternative suggestions on what to get and where to get it?
Im 6' 1" and 14 stone so needs to be reasonably big.

Al Fresco

Re: Advice on new Kayak needed
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012 »

Have trawled the internet and also came up with the Dagger GT Max action and the Perception Super Sonic. anybody have or used any of these or know of anywhere locally that sells them? All retail on the net at £449.

wmclaughlin

• Newbie Poster
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2012 »

Have a look at the Belfast Kayak Club website and forum. It may be worth registering on the forum and asking the question there.

Damp Colin

• Jr. Poster
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2012 »

What kind of paddling are you intending to do? Best thing to do is join a club and try out other peoples boats. Have a mate who has the GTX Max and loves it i have the new Liquid Logic Stomper which i love paddling. At 14 stone you wouldn't necessarily need the biggest boat manufactures make. Basically its horses for courses with boats everyone has their own preference's and wouldn't have a bad word said about the boat they paddle. Like i said earlier join a club you'll get great advice and info about boats from members then that way you wont splash out money on a boat that you aren't comfortable in. If you want any other advice give me a shout  ;D

Colin

Al Fresco

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2012 »