Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Follow NI-Wild

Linked Events

• Mournes Hike: June 27, 2009

Author Topic: The "Can Jonno Make It up a Mountain Without Being Sick" Mournes Hike  (Read 11984 times)

RedLeader

• Has Camped With NI-Wild
  • Hero Poster

I've been trying to do a little more walking and improve my fitness for the last few months and I'd like to try a Mournes peak. I've been up Hares Gap to the top of SlieveNaglogh which went okay - now I'm looking for volunteers to help me have a pop at another peak.

I was thinking of Slieve Bernagh but I have no experience of how difficult it is. Stick a post on if you're interested and suggest a route and peak suitable for people at the more novice end of the scale if you know of one.

Tentative date is Saturday 27th June but Sunday 28th would quite possibly suit too.

666_pack

• Hero Poster

It's really not as tough as it looks ;D By the time you reach the hare's gap your half way up.
And coming down is no tougher than gettin back down SlieveNaglogh.
LIFE IS TOO SHORT TO HAVE FUN

chris

• Hero Poster

prob the best way to tackle bernagh imo is to park at the car park west of meelmore lodge (293926) then follow the fence/wall east untill you hit the trassy track, bounce up it to hares gap then follow the wall right up to the summit, then you can either retrace your steps or keep going down between meelmore and meelbeg, find the river and follow it back to the car park. Its a right wee jaunt but I think that way your stickin to mostly tracks and well trodden gorund.

chris

• Hero Poster

did you chaps hit the mournes then?

666_pack

• Hero Poster

No, This trip as been put back a few weeks but is still going ahead if you fancy coming along the more the merrier.

chris

• Hero Poster

Yeah im up for that, it'll be good to put a few faces to usernames! you got a rough idea of a date?

666_pack

• Hero Poster