Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Follow NI-Wild

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Mourne Tips for an Absolute Novice  (Read 12908 times)

Darran

• Top Poster
Mourne Tips for an Absolute Novice
« on: November 10, 2014 »

Hello,

I can see that these forums are packed with info about the Mournes which I am looking forward to picking through.

As for myself I am looking for a hobby and would quite like to give hiking a shot (though I have no hiking experience -save Mt Slemish). Even though I am from just outside Belfast I am lured to the scenery of the Mournes and the thought of exploring the place.

So far I have read through a few different web pages but what I think I could use is some inside advice. Are there any easy-going trails for instance, until I get used to the long walks? Is there anything in particular that I should watch out for? Have you any common sense advice to give me or any particular information that I should know about the area?

And last but not least, is it recommended at all for a beginner to tackle between the Nov - February months?

I sound as though I am asking a lot, but any help at all is much appreciated!

-Darran

Rich.H

• Has Camped With NI-Wild
  • Hero Poster
Re: Mourne Tips for an Absolute Novice
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014 »